Welcome to PAC Athletics

The following is a short history of the PAC-(number) conference.

Pacific Coast Conference

The Pacific Coast Conference (PCC) was formed in December 1915 and play began in 1916.
The original four members were the University of California, the University of Washington, the University of Oregon, and Oregon Agricultural College (now Oregon State University).
In 1917 Washington State joined.
In 1918 Stanford joined.
In 1922 USC and Idaho joined.
In 1924 Montana joined.
In 1928 UCLA joined.
In 1950 Montana left.
In 1959 the PCC disbanded after the "Pay-for-play" scandal.

Athletic Association of Western Universities

The Athletic Association of Western Universities was formed in July 1959.
The original five members this time were California, Stanford, UCLA, USC, and Washington.
In 1962 Washington State joined.


In 1964 Oregon and Oregon State rejoined. In 1968 the AAWU formally renamed itself the Pacific-8 or Pac-8.


In 1978 Arizona and Arizona State joined and the Pac-8 became the Pac-10.

Pacific 12

In 2011 Colorado and Utah officially joined and the Pac-10 became the Pac-12.